Soutars Garage

The History of Soutars Garage

 

 

 

Soutars Garage was founded by Fred Soutar in 1928. Originally Soutars Garage was located at the old Pemewan’s site and was relocated to its current location in the early thirties. It was Warragul’s major service centre. Services included full engine rebuilds and making their own white metal bearings and stellite valves. Soutars was also a dealer for Hudson cars.

The site underwent an extension in the fifties, including the addition of 4 petrol bowsers. Jack Soutar, Fred’s son, kept the family business going and retired in the early seventies.

The current owner, Gary Thomson, started his apprenticeship at Soutars Garage, in 1977, working for Bill Wilkinson & Neil Saltmarsh. Gary took over the business in 1988. Gary takes pride in his long term team of experienced staff. The current Soutars Garage team includes Gary’s nephew Matt Young (fifteen years), Lyle Oshannassy (twelve years), Gary’s son Nick Thomson (ten years), and Debra Thompson (ten years). That’s a combined eighty seven years of high quality Soutars experience keeping your car on the road!

Scroll to Top
Call Now ButtonCALL US NOW